The 2010 Lep Course

 You are visitor number 
 since 18 August 2010 

The first second Lep Course was held at the SW Research Station from 7- 14 August, 2010.

  • Jim Brock, Tucson
  • John Brown, Smithsonian
  • P. D. Hulce, SW Research Station
  • Jim Miller, American Museum of Natural History
  • Ray Nagle, University of Arizona
  • Chris Schmidt, Canadian National Collection
  • Bruce Walsh, University of Arizona
  • Professor Ian Watkinson, Arizona Western College/Northern Arizona University
Guest Instructors
  • Lee Dyer, University of Nevada, Reno
  • David Wagner, University of Connecticut
  • Jim Boone, Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago
  • Chuck Ely, Nacogdoches, TX
  • Pam Horsley, San Diego Museum of Natual History
  • Barbara Laudan, Lynden, WA
  • Mark Mellow, Lloyd Center for the Environments, Darthmouth, MA
  • Hugh McGuinness, Sag Harbor, NY
  • Range Steve Mueller, Cedar Springs, MI
  • Carolyn Parsons, Atlantic Cool Climate Research Center, St. Johns, Newfoundland
  • Norma Platt, Rochester, New York
  • Dennis Stenge, Richland, WA

Photos from 2010 course

One of the course's MV lamps awaiting vistors

Carolyn Parsons (Newfoundland) using the scope to look at adult structures while Norma Platt (Webster, NY) waits here turn.

Ray Nagle (University of Arizona) pointing out to John Brown (Smithsonian) that he has two micros under the scope

John Brown (Smithsonian) spreading microleps

Jim Miller dissecting genitalia.

John Brown (Smithsonian) helping Carolyn Parsons (Newfoundland) and Pam Horsely (San Diego Museum of Natural History) ID microlep families at the sheet.

Denis Stenge (Richland, WA) checking an ID against Powell and Opler

Class lecture on adult morphology

Ray Nagle (University of Arizona) helping Pam Horsely (San Diego Museum of Natural History) while Range Steve Mueller and Chuck Ely (Nacodoches, Texas) look on.

John Brown's (Smithsonian) workng collection of local microleps

Ray Nagle (University of Arizona) and Chuck Ely (Nacodoches, Texas)

Pam Horsely (San Diego Museum of Natural History), Jennifer Bundy (Western Arizona College, Yuma) and Barba Laudan (Lynder, WA).

Carolyn Parsons (Newfoundland) and Ray Nagle (University of Arizona)