Home page for ECOL 519A, Evolutionary Quantitative Genetics

 You are visitor number 
 since 30 October 2006 

Course Announcements

Class Details

Synopsis: This course will cover the biology and statistics of the analysis of complex traits (those whose phenotypes are determined by the interaction between variation at a number of genes coupled with environmental variation). This covers just about every trait of interest in evolution, ecology, medicine, and applied breeding. The focus will be on teaching the basic statistical machinery while focusing on biologically interesting questions. While the main focus will be on evolutionary applications, many of the topics will also be of interest to those working in medicine, genomics, and applied breeding.

Instructor: Bruce Walsh, jbwalsh@u.arizona.edu

Credits: Three Units

Time/location: Tuesday/Thursday 9:30 - 10:45 LSS 340

Class Text: Genetics and Analysis of Quantitative Traits, Lynch and Walsh, 1998

Grading: Problems sets and class assignments.

Prerequisites: Course in Genetics, Statistics

We will be using the R statistical software

R is free. You can download it (for almost all computers) at

Lecture notes

Date Lecture number Topic Readings/handouts Additional Notes on advanced topics
11 Jan (Thursday) 1 Basic Statistical Machinery pdf of Lecture 1 notes

R as a basic statistical calculator

16 Jan (Tuesday) 2 Linear Algebra and Linear Models pdf of Lectures 2-3 notes

Matrix Calculations in R

 
18 Jan (Thursday) 3 Linear Algebra and Linear Models pdf of Lectures 2-3 notes
23 Jan (Tuesday) 4 Basic Concepts in Mendelian, Population and Quantitative Genetics pdf of Lecture 4 notes  
25 Jan (Thursday) 5 Resemblance Between Relatives pdf of Lecture 5 notes  
30 Jan (Tuesday) 6 Basic Designs for Estimation of Genetic Parameters pdf of Lectures 6-7 notes  
1 Feb (Thursday) 7 Basic Designs for Estimation of Genetic Parameters pdf of Lectures 6-7 notes  
6 Feb (Tuesday) 8 Major Genes, Polygenes, and QTLs pdf of Lecture 8 notes  
8 Feb (Thursday)   No Class    
13 Feb (Tuesday) 9 QTL Mapping pdf of Lectures 9-10 notes  
15 Feb (Thursday) 10 QTL Mapping pdf of Lectures 9-10 notes  
20 Feb (Tuesday)   No Class    
22 Feb (Thursday)   No Class    
27 Feb (Tuesday) 11 QTL Mapping    
1 Mar (Thursday) 12 QTL Mapping    
6 Mar (Tuesday) 13 QTL Mapping    
8 Mar (Thursday) 14 Short-term Selection Response    
13 Mar (Tuesday)   Spring break!    
15 Mar (Thursday)   Spring break!    
20 Mar (Tuesday) 15 Short-term Selection Response    
22 Mar (Thursday) 16 Short-term Selection Response    
27 Mar (Tuesday) 17 Long-term Selection Response and Selection Limits    
29 Mar (Thursday) 18 Long-term Selection Response and Selection Limits    
3 Apr (Tuesday) 19 Individual Fitness and Measures of Univariate Selection    
5 Apr (Thursday) 20 Individual Fitness and Measures of Univariate Selection    
10 Apr (Tuesday) 21 Genetic Correlations and Multivariate Selection Response    
12 Apr (Thursday) 22 Genetic Correlations and Multivariate Selection Response    
17 Apr (Tuesday) 23 Measuring Multivariate Selection    
19 Apr (Thursday) 24 Measuring Multivariate Selection    
24 Apr (Tuesday) 25 Measuring Multivariate Selection    
26 Apr (Thursday) 26 Quantitative Analysis of Regulatory Variation    
8 May (Tuesday) 27 Quantitative Analysis of Regulatory Variation